Support the ongoing development of Laravel.io →
posted 8 years ago
Architecture
Last updated 2 years ago.

I am still pretty new to Laravel, so I am not yet familiar with the best practices when using it, but I do have a lot of experience with enterprise Java so I can give you some generic advice.

The first thing I would do is break up your process into discrete high-level "steps". For instance, these are some of the steps I see:

1. retrieve uploaded file
  2. create $campaign object
  3. unzip uploaded file
  4. iterate over files that were uzipped

and so on

So I would start by making functions for each of those steps. For now, just put those functions as methods on your controller. And for each function, you should think in terms of what you should pass in, and what you want it to return.

So for instance, with your retrieveUploadFile() function, you have some choices. For inputs, you could pass in either $request or $request->file('file'). Passing in $request->file('file') would be my preference since it makes that function more re-usable, in the case that you use it somewhere else and you call your file upload param something other than 'file'.

For outputs, you can either have it return true or false, to indicate success or failure, or you could have it return the path of the uploaded file on success, and false or null on failure. My preference would be the latter, because it's more explicit. Also, by not returning the path, you're requiring all the code that uses this function to know implementation details of this method, in particular that it uses getUploadPath() as the location where it stores files. And then if you ever wanted to change the implementation so that it used a different location, you'd have to update every place that called that function to use the new location.