Support the ongoing development of Laravel.io →
Installation Views Architecture
Last updated 2 years ago.

Just use servelets and jsp, why bother with laravel?

Because the user needs to download a xlsm file.

How can I use servelets and jsp?

This is my first time I'm trying to implement this.

lol, you need to set header to the correct content type. Just look for the correct content type of xlsm

Something like,

HttpServletResponse response = (HttpServletResponse)response;
response.setContentType("application/octet-stream");
response.setHeader("Content-Disposition", "attachment;filename=yourfile.csv");

I think you do not understand my question.

In one of my laravel view I have a button which I would like to request java code.

This is my view:

<div class="widget widget-body text-center">
  <div class="row">
    {{ Form::open(array('action' => array('ProcessController@requestXlsm', $process->process),'method' => 'post')) }}
      <div class="innerAll">
        {{ Form::button('Request xlsm file', array('class' => 'primary btn btn-primary btn-stroke')) }}
      </div>
    {{ Form::close() }}          
  </div>  
</div>

From here, how can I use servlets and jsp?

Thank you

Last updated 9 years ago.

Oh my god. Your original message was misleading. The above code works purely in Java, not PHP. If that's the case, you do not need servlets and jsp. I assume you already know what they are and they do, so I am not going to explain to much detail. Basically they are 2 different languages. Now, to do it in Laravel, it is recommended you go thru these links first to see they can help you.

At the section, Creating A File Download Response

http://laravel.com/docs/5.0/responses

HTTP Headers

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_HTTP_header_fields

Similar to the Java code, you will still need to send header the correct content type to server to response because this is how HTTP works.

Hope they help.